090420 WOD “Back Squats”

Workout: SRFD WOD

Warm Up:

Newbie WOD
400m Run
10 Pull Ups
20 Push Ups
30 Sit Ups
40 Squats

Then,
Back Squat 3-3-3-3-3 reps

Post time on newbie and loads on back squat to comments.

Todays WOD is a strength day.  Warm up with the newbie WOD, then go into the back squats.  It is 5 sets of 3 reps.  Ideally, you would go up weight each set.  If you know your 3 rep max, go down from there.  If not, start at a reasonable weight, and try to find it.  If you are new, start light and stay light.  Make sure you have good form and get low enough on the squat.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Article: “How to Improve Scapular Stability for Healthy Shoulders“, The Life Spotlight.

“No other joint in the human body has as many ranges of motion as the shoulder. The blessing of this is all of the wonderful things you can do with your arms, from throwing a 100 mph fastball to hitting that same fastball, from shooting three-pointers to getting the rebounds when your teammates miss. Pressing and pulling movements can be undertaken in virtually any direction because of the ability of the shoulder to move.”

The shoulder is very important, this article talks about how to maintain it’s health.

2 Comments

Filed under WOD's

2 responses to “090420 WOD “Back Squats”

  1. Did my 1st Triathlon of the season yesterday (2nd Tri ever). It was the
    Ice Breaker Triathlon in Granite Bay, CA. 1/2 mile swim, 13 mile bike, 4 mile run. I used a wetsuit this time (thanks Dean!) and it really helped during the swim. I finished the swim in about 14 mins. Unfortunately I started cramping at the end of the swim, which was very odd, I never cramp or get dehydrated during workouts or any other sports. The 1st transition was very slow because my right leg was fully cramped, I had to sit to take off my wetsuit and take an extra moment to get extra fluid and a GU. Once I got on the bike, I felt okay, passed a lot of people, but was cramping off and on. Drank my water bottle full of accelerade and 2 GU’s during the bike. Got to the run, super fast 2nd transition, probably less than 30 seconds, at a couple Power Bar gel shots as I started the run, and was off. Started the run at just over a 6min/mile pace, had some severe cramping during the run. Both hamstrings at once on a climb, almost knocked my to the ground…yelled a bit, told myself I would not stop under any circumstances. Finished pretty strong on the run.

    I finished in 1hr 32mins according to my watch, and in 76th place overall, out of 404+ racers, and also 9th in my age group out of 40 or so in the 30-34 group (traditionally the toughest or 2nd toughest group). I am very encouraged, but frustrated about the cramping. I’m thinking I over-hydrated with water the night before, vs. using electrolyte type of stuff. I ate great, day before and day off. I’ll have to do some research on that.

    The moral of the story is, Crossfit works. I have used it as my primary training tool. I’ve been in the pool 3 times prior to this Tri, and biked and ran probably 2-3 times this season. I’m already looking forward to my next one, May 17th at Morgan Hill Sprint Triathlon

Leave a Reply

